Skip to Content

The BEST Life Cycle of a Frog Activities for Kids


Do your kids love frogs? Mine do! There are so many fun frog activities that you can do with your kids to help teach them about the life cycle. Kids love life cycle activities. Trust me! 

From watching tadpoles grow into frogs, to creating a pond ecosystem, to learning about camouflage – there is something for everyone! Please keep reading for some of our favorite frog activities for kids.

Frog on a lily pad

This post covers loads of frog life cycle activities. We were thrilled to find tree frogspawn in our pond because learning about the life stages of a frog is a critical point in a child’s learning! The male frogs have been croaking up a storm in our forest in the evenings.

The rhythm is beautiful, but I wonder where they all hide during the day. In other words, the chorus sounds like one of the thousands.

I hope you enjoy the life cycle of a frog for kids’ activities! These tadpole life cycle activities are great for toddlers, preschoolers, and kindergarteners and even include a life cycle of a frog worksheet!

Life Cycle of a Frog Activities for Preschoolers

21 Frog Facts for Kids

  1. Frogs live in ponds, lakes, streams, and other bodies of water.
  2. They spend most of their lives in the larval stage (caterpillar), which looks very different from the adult form.
  3. The tadpole stage is also known as the aquatic phase.
  4. There are over 4,700 species of frogs in the world. However, Europe has only 45 species.
  5. Frogs absorb water through their skin, so they don’t need to drink!
  6. Frogs can lay as many as 4,000 eggs in frogspawn.
  7. The eyes and nose of a frog are on top of its head so it can breathe and see when most of its body is underwater.
  8. Frogs have long back legs and webbed feet for jumping and swimming.
  9. Some frogs can jump up to 20 times their body length in a single leap.
  10. Frogs usually eat meat (bugs and worms) and swallow their food whole.
  11. The goliath frog from Cameroon in West Africa is the world’s biggest frog. Their bodies can be one foot long.
  12. The smallest frogs in the world are less than half-an-inch long.
  13. Herpetologists study frogs and toads. Herpetology is the study of amphibians and reptiles.
  14. Frog bones form a new ring yearly when the frog is hibernating, like trees. Scientists can count these rings to discover the age of the frog.
  15. One type of desert frog can wait as long as seven years for water by surrounding itself in a transparent bag that becomes its first meal once the rain comes.
  16. Amphibians’ eyes come in all shapes and sizes. Some frogs have square or heart-shaped pupils.
  17. Amphibians don’t see color — they only see in black or white.
  18. The golden dart frog is the most poisonous frog on earth; one frog’s skin could kill up to 1,000 people.
  19. The male Darwins Frog takes its mate’s eggs into its mouth as soon as they show signs of life, and they stay there until they emerge as fully grown froglets.
  20. Frogs cannot live in the sea or any salt water.
  21. Many of the most brightly colored tropical frogs are colored to warn predators that they are poisonous.

Poison Dart Frog Perched on a Leaf

Types of Frogs

  • Poison Dart Frog
  • Glass Frog
  • Fire-Bellied Toad
  • Neobatrachians
  • Mantellidae
  • Golden Mantella

What is the Life Cycle of a Frog?

The life cycle of a frog has five stages. I thought it might be helpful to describe the life cycle of a tadpole.

Life Stages of a Frog

  1. Eggs {or Frogspawn} are tiny and laid in thousands, typically in ponds or marshes.
  2. Tadpole Stage – Tadpoles hatch from the eggs and live in the water using gills to breathe.
  3. Tadpoles begin to develop legs at this time however it still lives and breathes in the water.
  4. Froglets are almost mature and still have a tail, but now breathe with lungs.
  5. Adult frogs have no tails (the tail is absorbed into the body) and continue to breathe with their lungs.

Life Cycle of a Frog Worksheet

Download Your FREE Life Cycle of a Frog Worksheet

Frog Life Cycle for Kids

The frog eggs are beautiful, with perfectly rounded black dots and jelly sacs. Frogs lay their eggs, so the sac attaches to a branch in our pond, which makes observing their growth all the more lovely.

Life Cycle of a Frog Activities for Preschoolers

Life Cycle of a Frog Video

My boys loved watching this video of a frog growing from egg to adult frog. Super cool!

Preschool Songs about Frogs

A classic song for kids!

The Little Green Frog song warms my heart and brings me back to when my boys were small.

Children’s Books for Learning about the Frog

Life Cycle of a Frog Activities for Preschoolers

Activities for Learning about Frogs

Life Cycle of a Frog Activities for Preschoolers

Life Cycle of a Frog Craft

Materials for the Life Cycle of a Frog Craft:

  • Large paper plate
  • Small paper plate
  • Life cycle printout
  • Colored Pencils
  • Paper Hole Punch
  • Scissors
  • Markers

Classroom Life Cycle of a Frog Activities

Life Cycle of a Frog for Kids Activities

Frog Activities Pack

Slide This bundle includes 70+ pages for frog learning.

Included in this bundle of over 70+ pages are the following:

  • 8 cutting & tracing strips
  • Parts of the Frog 3 Part Cards
  • Life Cycle of a Frog sequence cards
  • Frog Sentence Strips with Matching Images
  • Math Counter Cards

Printables are in D’nealian, Century Gothic regular, and Dotted fonts.

Want More Life Cycle Activities and Crafts? Click below!

Have fun!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.