Skip to Content

Books Like Roald Dahl – If You Like Matilda, Check Out This List.

SHARE THIS POST:

Does your child devour Roald Dahl’s books? My 8-year-old is eating up every word! I wonder if Mr. Dahl knew his impact on humans of all ages, including my 3rd grader! Check out these books like Roald Dahl and satisfy your inner child (or your actual child!)

Are you looking for a good children’s book series to read to your kids? Check out some of the classics similar to Mr. Dahl’s adventurous writing style.

Roald Dahl’s books are full of suspense, humor, and adventure. Plus, they’re easy enough for kids to read on their own. So get ready for fun reading times with these top picks for kids!

Children’s Books Like Roald Dahl

My Father’s Dragon Series

My-Fathers-Dragon Series of Books for Children

My Father’s Dragon is part of a beloved children’s book series that has captivated readers for generations. This trilogy follows a young boy’s imaginative and adventurous journey as he rescues an enslaved dragon using his quick wit and courage.

He develops relationships with allies in unexpected places and discovers newfound skills. The books are a delightful blend of comedy, imagination, and action.

Ruth Styles Gannett provides countless moments of humor and insight into human nature, making them timeless classics.

A Series of Unfortunate Events

A-Series-of-Unfortunate-Events

A Series of Unfortunate Events is a thirteen-book series written by Lemony Snicket (the pen-name of American author Daniel Handler). This popular, ongoing book series is intended for 3rd-grade readers and higher.

It follows the bleak lives of 3 Baudelaire orphans, who suffer countless misfortunes after their parents’ mysterious deaths. Despite its morbid and dark humor, it has become renowned for its unique plotlines and uncommon intelligence.

With plenty of twists and turns throughout each story, Snicket’s suspenseful writing will hook young readers.

The Wayside School Series

Wayside-School-Series

The Wayside School series is a popular book collection written by Louis Sachar. It focuses on the students of Wayside School and the antics they get up to.

Filled with imaginative storylines and vibrant characters, the books engage and inspire kids. With twists, a grand sense of humor, and heartwarming moments, this series of books is incredibly popular with children worldwide.

The Last Kids on Earth Series

The-Last-Kids-on-Earth

The Last Kids on Earth series has become a fan favorite for 8-year-olds and up. This post-apocalyptic adventure/comedy is full of action, laughs, and unique characters that bring the story to life.

The series follows Jack Sullivan and his friends as they fight off monsters and have fun together. With witty dialogue and exciting plot twists that keep readers unsure of what to expect next.

Mr. Lemoncello’s Library Series

Mr.-Lemoncellos-Library-Series

The Mr. Lemoncello’s Library Series follows “game-master” Kyle and his team of friends as they solve puzzles to outsmart a whimsical billionaire, Mr. Lemoncello.

Written by award-winning author Chris Grabenstein, this series follows the team on their various library adventures worldwide and throughout history.

Capturing the imagination of readers since its start in 2013, each book is filled with exciting puzzles that need to be solved as well as important lessons about friendship and respect for all living things.

The Mysterious Benedict Society

The-Mysterious-Benedict-Society

The Mysterious Benedict Society is a book series by author Trenton Lee Stewart that follows four kids who go on various adventures. This group of brilliant yet mischievous children is tasked with saving society from various evil plots by a mastermind villain.

Reynie, Sticky, Kate, and Constance are recruited to join The Mysterious Benedict Society after passing an excellent aptitude test. Throughout their journey, the group frequently finds themselves up against dramatic, unexpected odds that they must figure out together as a team.

More Books Like Roald Dahl

Fortunately, the Milk

Fortunately-the-Milk

Fortunately, the Milk by Neil Gaiman provides elementary children with a humorous, exciting journey through time with enough adventure to satisfy even the most curious readers. With his whimsical illustrations and clever dialogue, Gaiman’s story is sure to be a hit with elementary-aged readers.

It follows a father who must make an unlikely voyage on behalf of his children to return home with milk for their breakfast cereal. Though all ends well, the peculiar journey home is full of wacky circumstances that will keep young readers engaged and entertained!

Mr. Popper’s Penguins

Mr. Poppers Penguins

Mr. Popper’s Penguins is a delightful tale for 9-year-olds and adults, written by Richard and Florence Atwater in 1938. The novel follows Mr. Popper, a house painter who dreams of traveling the world even though he can’t manage to leave his hometown.

When several unusual circumstances occur, he finds himself the proud owner of twelve penguins! He must find ways to care for the creatures while learning important lessons involving responsibility, love, and giving back to his community.

This funny yet heart-warming classic has been adapted into many versions, including an Academy Award-nominated film in 2011.

The Phantom Tollbooth

The Phantom Tollbooth

The Phantom Tollbooth is a popular children’s book published in 1961 and written by Norton Juster. It has often been compared to other beloved children’s books like Roald Dahl’s.

This fantasy novel follows Milo, a bored ten-year-old boy who receives a mysterious tollbooth – which transports him to the mythical Kingdom of Wisdom. There he meets unusual characters, including Tock, the watchdog; Humbug, a pessimistic insect; and Faintly Macabre, the not-so-frightening phantom.

The adventures of Milo aim to teach children lessons about life and love, such as learning from mistakes or choosing to persevere rather than give up when times get tough.

The Candymakers

The Candymakers Series

In Wendy Mass’ novel, The Candymakers, four young candy-makers learn the true power of friendship and inclusion. The story follows Logan, Miles, Daisy, and Philip through their adventurous journey as they draft a plan for the National Candy Contest.

Along this fantastic voyage, each character learns to capitalize on their strengths and nurture those of their counterparts to concoct the most delectable recipes imaginably. Every chapter serves a delightful new challenge to solve, culminating in a very unexpected conclusion.

The Whipping Boy

The Whipping Boy

The Whipping Boy is a children’s book series, originally written by Sid Fleischman and later adapted into a children’s movie. The story follows the adventures of Prince Horace and his whipping boy, Jemmy. For Jemmy to save the prince from being punished for misbehavior, he bravely takes the punishment in his stead.

As their adventures lead them outside the castle walls, they each find bravery within themselves and hidden secrets from their pasts. Together they discover that sometimes friendship is the best form of bravery, leading to an exciting conclusion everyone can learn from!

The Mysterious Howling

The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place

The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place is a captivating children’s book series, often compared to the works of Roald Dahl. Following Lady Constance, a young and elegant lady of the aristocracy, readers journey along as she attempts to tame her three mysterious children, who have been discovered living in the wild woods.

Throughout 36 books written by Maryrose Wood, this unconventional family embarks on a journey of discovery as they try to unravel their pasts to learn how these children came to live alone in the wood.

With incredible plot twists and undeniably charming characters, The Children of Ashton Place is a beautiful series for children looking for something similar to books by Roald Dahl.

Nooks & Crannies

Nooks & Crannies

If you’re looking for children’s books that capture the charm and whimsy of Roald Dahl, then look no further than Jessica Lawson’s Nooks & Crannies! Tabitha Crum is a sweet girl. She is the only child of two neglectful parents.

Without a friend in the world, except for her pet mouse, Pemberley. One day her life changes forever when she receives one of six invitations to the country estate of Countess Camilla DeMoss.

One reviewer stated about this book: “Charlie and the Chocolate Factory meets Clue when six children navigate a mansion full of secrets—and maybe money—in this humorous mystery with heart.”

Beastly Tales from Here & There

Beastly Tales from Here & There

Vikram Seth’s book, Beastly Tales from Here & There, is a collection of ten beautiful poetic tales written in verse. Seth brings engaging characters from India, Greece, China, Ukraine, and the Land of Gup.

Through his beautiful writing, Seth expertly combines humor and wit with moral life lessons – making beastly though delightful creatures stand together in harmony. Children of all ages will enjoy this inspired work!

You’re a Bad Man, Mr. Gum

You're a Bad Man, Mr. Gum

You’re a Bad Man, Mr. Gum” is a “laugh out loud” book 1 of an entertaining children’s book by Andy Stanton. The series follows the misadventures of its titular character, Mr. Gum, an angry fairy who lives in his bathtub, Jake the dog, a little girl named Polly, and a mean butcher.

Mr. Gum tangles with funny characters and experiences all kinds of adventures. This series will keep readers engaged page after page as new characters and situations arise from the lively world of Stanton’s imagination. “You’re a Bad Man, Mr.Gum” is sure to entertain children looking for something fun and creative to read.

Check Out More Childrens’ Books Lists

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

John

Wednesday 14th of December 2022

We just got into reading Roald Dahl with our daughter and it has brought back so many memories from my childhood of reading his works. Thank you for this list! I had forgotten about the My Father's Dragon series and so we started it last night. After looking more into the book I found out that Netflix just released the movie a month ago. What timing!

If I can suggest an addition to this list it would be The Last of the Really Great Whangdoodles by Julie Andrews. It was one of my favorites from 1st-3rd grade and I'm excited to revisit it with my own children. I just haven't been able to find a copy in our local library... yet. :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.